Back together in 2011 after a longer break. 
This ensemble was founded for the first time in 1993 and they dedicate themselves to mixed-arrangement chamber music for strings and wind instruments. The core of their repertoire is the great octet of Franz Schubert. The Gewandhaus Octet showed how versatile the literature is in this combination in their earlier work that was regularly revealed by the ensemble in its numerous appearances in Germany, Austria, Spain and Japan. The ensemble is back together again with some of the members of the original group. It is this tradition they want to link up to by reviving the Gewandhaus Octet.

Today the following musicians belong to the octet:

Andreas Seidel & Sara Astore, violins
Dorothea Hemken, viola
Veronika Wilhelm, cello
Christian Ockert, double bass
Peter Schurrock, clarinet
David Petersen, bassoon
Bernhard Krug, bugle