In addition to the Gewandhaus Choirs, four ensembles currently hold the title "Gewandhaus", awarded by the Gewandhauskapellmeister: the Gewandhaus-Quartett, the Gewandhaus-Oktett, the Gewandhaus-Bläserquintett and the Gewandhaus-Brass-Quintett.

Gewandhaus String Quartet

Die Geburtsstunde des Gewandhaus-Quartetts schlug im Jahr 1808, als der Violinist August Matthäi mit drei weiteren Musikern des Gewandhausorchesters Quartettabende zu veranstalten begann. Somit kann das Gewandhaus-Quartett heute auf eine Geschichte von mehr als 200 Jahren zurückblicken, denn es setzte seine Tätigkeit – sich von Generation zu Generation erneuernd und immer wieder verjüngend – ohne Unterbrechung bis zur Gegenwart fort. Es ist eines der ältesten Streichquartettensembles der Welt und mit Sicherheit das einzige, das einen so langen Zeitraum überdauert hat.

More infos Concerts

Gewandhaus Wind Quintet

The Gewandhaus-Bläserquintett was founded in 1896 and is, as such, the oldest existing chamber ensemble of its kind in the world. Under the patronage of the Gewandhauskapellmeister of the day, Arthur Nikisch, the oboist Alfred Gleißberg led his four colleagues from the Gewandhausorchester in this new musical venture. The soloists of the Orchestra who comprise the ensemble today are justly proud of this 120-year heritage.

More infos Website

Gewandhaus Brass Quintett

If you have ever experienced the broad stylistic range of the Gewandhaus Brass Quintet combined with their infectious verve, you only want to hear more and more of the imaginative music as interpreted by these five solo brass players from the Gewandhaus Orchestra. They bring the rich musical diversity of their instruments to bear in unusual and off-beat programmes: ranging from the brilliant sound of the baroque, through the breath-taking rhythms of modern compositions, right down to their jazzy groove. Wherever they make an appearance, listeners are dazzled with their charm, impressed with their musical drive and mesmerised with their unbounded virtuoso playfulness. 

More infos Concerts


Back together in 2011 after a longer break. 
This ensemble was founded for the first time in 1993 and they dedicate themselves to mixed-arrangement chamber music for strings and wind instruments. The core of their repertoire is the great octet of Franz Schubert. The Gewandhaus Octet showed how versatile the literature is in this combination in their earlier work that was regularly revealed by the ensemble in its numerous appearances in Germany, Austria, Spain and Japan. The ensemble is back together again with some of the members of the original group. It is this tradition they want to link up to by reviving the Gewandhaus Octet.

More infos Concerts